Uhuru Solidarity Movement 2018 National Convention Program


DAY 1: Saturday, April 14th 9 AM to 8:30 PM

MC: Connor Voss

9 AM to 10:00 AM  Registration

10:00  Opening Remarks: International Recruitment and Membership (IRMO) Chair Connor Voss

10:10  Political Report to USM Convention: 

Uhuru Solidarity Movement (USM) National Chair Jesse Nevel

10:30  African People’s Solidarity Committee: APSC Chairwoman Penny Hess

11:00  Presentation by APSP Deputy Chair: DC Ona Zené Yeshitela


11:05  Keynote Address: African People’s Socialist Party Chairman Omali Yeshitela


12:05 PM to 12:25 PM  Discussion: Chairman Omali Yeshitela with Connor Voss


12:25 to 1:15  Lunch


1:15 to 1:30  Special recognition of USM members:  USM IRMO Chair, Connor Voss

1:30 PM  Overview on St. Louis Tour:  

African People’s Socialist Party Deputy Chair Ona Zené Yeshitela

1:45 to 3:45  Black Power Blueprint Tour:  

Ticharwa Masimba,  Kitty Reilly, KC Mackey, DC Ona Zené Yeshitela, comrade Kake


SNACK TIME on the way back to our seats


3:45 to 4:45  The Reparations to Black Power Blueprint Appeal Workshop: 

USM Midwest Regional Coordinator KC Mackey

4:45 to 5:15  No Pride in Genocide: White LGBTQIA Solidarity with Black Power:

Jackson Hollingsworth & Halley Murray

5:15 to 5:30 PM  Discussion: IRMO Chair Connor Voss


5:30 to 6:20 PM  Dinner


6:20-6:30  Closing out the Convention: MC Connor Voss

6:30 to 8:30   Evening (Free) Community event: “I Am A Black Identity Extremist” Oppose FBI attacks on Black Movement! with: African People’s Socialist Party (APSP) Chairman Omali Yeshitela,  African People’s Solidarity Committee (APSC) Chairwoman Penny Hess, International People’s Democratic Uhuru Movement (InPDUM) President Kalambayi Andenet, comrade Bobby Whittenberg,  and comrade Allie Aiello.

We invite you to stay for this public community event!  MC’d by USM Chair Jesse Nevel, we will discuss the US counterinsurgency against the Black movement: police, drugs, prison, and the murders of Ferguson Black activists. 


DAY 2:  Sunday, April 15th 9 AM to 6:30 PM 

MC: Mads Ambrose

9 AM  Doors Open

10 AM  Opening Remarks:  Mads Ambrose

10:05 to 10:25  Black Power Blueprint Overview:

African People’s Solidarity Committee (APSC) Chairwoman Penny Hess                    

10:25  Reparations Runway: Planet Uhuru Fashion Show 

10:40  Building the Culture of Reparations:  Halley Murray

  1. Overview:  Halley Murray
  2. Planet Uhuru:  Halley Murray 
  3. Reparations Challenge:  Mads Ambrose
  4. Art for Reparations:  Mara Ratiu
  5. Birthday Fundraisers:   Video of Jackson Hollingsworth
  6. Summation:  Halley Murray   

11:25  The War of Ideas~ Info-Ed & Social Media:

Info-Ed: Valerie Bronte, USM Chair of Information & Education 

Webinars & Social Media: Virginia Wilson, USM Social Media Chair 

11:45  Membership & Building branches of the Uhuru Solidarity Movement: 

Connor Voss and Halley Murray with USM Branch leaders

Branch Reports 

Workshop: Building Branches, starting with one person

Consolidation of formal LECs

  • Overview~ Connor Voss
    • Political significance of the people
  • Orientation – Kristen Forthun
  • Appreciation – Connor Voss
  • Renewal~ Jenee Iden
  • Branch Building – Halley Murray
  • Northeast~ Halley Murray with Connor Voss
  • Southeast~ Jackson Hollingsworth with Kerry Porter, Kefira Baron, Evan Garner
  • West Coast~ Mads Ambrose with Marisa Laufer
  • Midwest~ KC Mackey with Virginia Wilson


12:30 PM  Lunch


1:15  DSAP and Spring Tour:  Jackson Hollingsworth and Gibbs High School students.

1:35  Material Solidarity: Report from the USM Treasurer: Amanda Carlozzi

Everything you just saw revolves around a commitment of material solidarity that we make to the party, this is how our committee is structured, these are the teams you can join, call to join committees.  only for NSC

1:55  Constitution:  USM Chair Jesse Nevel

2:15  Appointment of USM National Chair: APSC Chairwoman Penny Hess

2:20  Election of National Steering Committee: Jesse Nevel  

2:40 to 3:05   Outreach Workshop: KC Mackey

3:05 to 3:30   10,000 Uhuru Pies for Black Power Blueprint!:

 Maureen Wagener and Patrick Enea

3:30 to 3:40  Call to APSP 7th Congress: KC Mackey and Jesse Nevel

3:40 to 4:00  Discussion & Closing out the Convention: MC Mads Ambrose

4 PM  InPDUM Sunday Rally~ Ferguson, Then and Now: From Resistance to Self-Determination